Frequently Asked Questions

What types of programs does NORCAL Group Foundation fund?

  • Grants will be awarded to eligible* organizations for programs related to Patient Care, Patient Safety or Physician Wellness.

What are the eligibility requirements?

  • Organizations seeking funding must qualify as exempt under Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code.
  • If not a current policyholder, applicants must be referred by a NORCAL Insured, Agent/Broker or Employee
  • Applications are open to eligible organizations in 37 states and the District of Columbia. (See full state eligibility list below, and on Foundation Overview flyer, at right.)

Are there any exclusions to funding?

At this time, NORCAL GROUP Foundation does not fund:
  • Individuals seeking personal assistance or scholarships
  • Research
  • Events
  • Politically partisan programs or lobbying efforts
  • General operating costs, equipment or capital campaigns (e.g., construction/remodeling of medical office space)

Is there a limit to the amount of funding my organization can request?

  • No, however, we expect a high volume of applications from worthy organizations.  We ask that applicants consider and explain all costs and measurable outcomes associated with their program when applying for funding.  Individual grants are selected based on merit and expected impact of the program as it relates to the foundation’s mission and focus areas.

How long is the application cycle open?

Can my organization submit more than one Grant Application?

  • Yes

When will my organization be notified if a grant is awarded?

  • Grant awards will be announced on or before Wednesday, December 6, 2017.

Will my organization be notified if our program/initiative is not selected?

  • Yes, all applicants will be notified of selection status.

Who can I contact with additional questions about the information above?

Requirements - State Eligibility


  • Alabama
  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • District of Columbia
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maryland
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • New Jersey
  • North Carolina
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Virginia
  • Washington
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin


  • Hawaii
  • Idaho
  • Maine
  • Massachusetts
  • Montana
  • New Hampshire
  • New Mexico
  • New York
  • North Dakota
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Vermont
  • Wyoming


NORCAL Group Foundation Information
Adobe_PDF_file_icon_24x24.png Download Flyer